[ Getting hungry for “The Hunger Games” ]

Since many people might have blogged about the movie “The Hunger Games”, it could not possibly bring any harm that this post adds on to the count, yeah?

I bet this movie is currently the talk of the town judging from the overwhelming response by the global audiences, how well the actors and actresses performed, and how frequently my sister bugged me about her friends endlessly talking about Peeta Mellark (one of the main actors). I, too, was impressed and could not ignore the truth that I was even hungrier to catch up on the novel (by Suzanne Collins) from which the movie originated. I do hope, however, that I will not get disappointed with the movie once I read the more thorough and detailed version of the story plot. Just like other series such as Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling and Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer which received some gloomy reviews for the movies when compared to the originals.

I am not going to blabber about the summary or review of how the movie fared. Although for the latter I already described it in the previous paragraph as “impressive” in my opinion. I mean, you are more than allowed to have different preference from mine. I liked how the whole package left an impression on me after the movie ended and the credits screen rolled. I was replaying the story plot in my head in a fast forward mode and thinking, what an inspirational story, despite the fact that I checked my watch twice during the movie. I, together with some other movie-goers, lingered for a while in the cinema hall anticipating any post-credits scene of the movie which I did not want to miss since the ending was sort of inconclusive. The regret I had when I missed watching the post-credits of “The Grey” was not something to reminisce and re-experience. But to my dismay, there was no clue for the next part of the trilogy which would be released in the last quarter of 2013.

Relating back to the title of my post, I was literally and figuratively hungry for this particular sequel. Literally because I just finished working out in the evening before joining my friends for dinner and then the movie. In the middle of the movie, I was probably enticed by the smells of popcorn and nachos around me and this appetite was aggravated by a brief scene in the movie where they displayed an array of mouth-watering food. As for the figurative point of view, I regarded “The Hunger Games” as a peculiar or wicked, I would say, Greek mythology-inspired story that made me curious to dig up more details about. In spite of it being merciless, I felt encouraged as the story here and there touched on  having hope amidst the adversity of possessing a very slight to zero chance to survive. By the way, I truly adored the bravery and loyalty of Katniss Everdeen, the female lead.

That is all for now. I shall continue reading “The Hunger Games” novel while perhaps grabbing something to snack. You know, it is really about being hungry because of the Games.

Cheers,

Tania

What is your opinion?

