[ Easter Sunday jokes ]

Before I am going to crack some jokes, there is a forewarning that, firstly, I am not a joker. I believe you have seen my photograph and agree that I do not have face painted white with superbly thick, dark eye liner around my eyes and mouth 5-inch wide with some stitches and blood red lipstick stain. Yes, I am not the one acting together with Batman.

Secondly, I am not the joke hopefully.

This particular joke that I have, dated some good years back, was initiated by a cousin in one Easter funfair. There was this mischievous query asked by one of the staff manning the booth about the animals symbolizing certain events. It was like “deer is to Christmas as _________ is to Easter”. We, as innocent young children that we were, just stunned for a while before my cousin shouted a rather brilliant answer. I thought in my heart without saying it out loud, “Oh, the answer must be bunny!”

Guess what? He said “DUCK!” and I heard it with my own ears.

Yes, the one that quacks and lays eggs.

Eggs, it all made sense now. Normally during Easter events in my hometown it was not a rare occasion to bring eggs home. Not chicken eggs but salted DUCK eggs. The mystery of his answer had come to light at last. However, since that incident, I could not stop wondering how rabbit has always been associated with Easter and why egg is used to symbolize Jesus’ resurrection from the death.

       

Referring to Lauren Effron on Discovery News,

According to University of Florida’s Center for Children’s Literature and Culture, the origin of the celebration — and the Easter bunny — can be traced back to 13th century, pre-Christian Germany, when people worshiped several gods and goddesses. The Teutonic deity Eostra was the goddess of spring and fertility, and feasts were held in her honor on the Vernal Equinox. Her symbol was the rabbit because of the animal’s high reproduction rate. Spring also symbolized new life and rebirth; eggs were an ancient symbol of fertility.

     

Do not get too stressed out to figure out this tradition! When all is said and done, EASTER is meant for us to enjoy.

Eat And Sip To Eternal Rejoicing

Eat, drink, and be merry, my friend! :) Happy Easter Sunday!

Cheers,

Tania

What is your opinion?

